UX Myths

I was first confused when I opened the link to UX Myths because it was just a list of many myths to click on and I wasn’t sure if I had to open all of them or just a few. So I did open and read them all but I’ll just be talking about a few.

The first myth I opened Myth #29: People are Rational. I agree with the statement that our decisions are driven more by our emotions than logical and conscious thinking. That’s why it’s so hard for us to not watch youtube videos or a movie instead of doing our homework. We know we should do our homework but we know if we watch something we enjoy then it will make us happier than our homework will. It’s not the rational decision and we know that but we still do it. Another myth I read was Myth #33: Mobile Users are Distracted and I agree and disagree with the reasoning on this one. I disagree with them saying that mobile is not on the go. You can’t hold your laptop as your riding the subway or in the back of a taxi, you’ll be on your phone. You don’t use your laptop to find out where the best place in town to eat is as your walking down the street. Mobile phones have made our world way more accessible in unbelievable ways, and that includes on the go information. I do agree that mobile users are equally as distracted by other forms of technology, however in different settings. It is more appropriate to be distracted by the TV or computer at home than it is to be distracted by your phone in class or walking down the street as you run into someone because you weren’t looking up. In terms of danger, our phones are the biggest distraction.ux-myths-facts-1080x650

 

Leave a comment